01 - 453 7574

News & Events

20 Aug 2019

Microsoft Certifications You Must Have


As an IT enthusiast acquiring a certification in Nigeria is usually seen as a major accomplishment, irrespective of your choosing field in IT. One of such certifications are the certifications from Microsoft. Microsoft is not just used by individuals but is also very important for companies as well. Therefore, most of the companies value Microsoft certification and considers certified professionals over the non-credential peers.

Microsoft certifications

Whether you work (or want to work) as an IT professional, analyst, developer, system or database administrator, a Microsoft Certification can help you prove your skills and increase your chances of getting hired or promoted.

Microsoft certifications are offered for desktop applications (end-user) and for technical products/technology. Though no specific training is required, Microsoft advises the best way to prepare for a certification exam is by having hands-on experience with the technology.

Microsoft offers a number of certifications and despite the recent changes made by the Microsoft Training department to simplify the certification paths and categories, some students still find it difficult to decide which path to follow and which certifications to pursue.
Microsoft certifications are organized into three levels: Fundamental, Associate, and Expert.


Microsoft certifications are grouped into 7 certification categories: MTA, MCSA, MCSD, MCSE, Fundamentals, MCA, MCE.

With the introduction of role-based certifications by Microsoft training, people get confused as to how these 7 categories are related and which certification path to follow to get from the lowest to the highest certification for each category.


Microsoft Technical Associate (MTA)

MTA is an entry-level Microsoft certification that validates the fundamental knowledge of those new to IT who need to start building a career in Microsoft technologies. With a modest investment of time and resources, candidates can build foundational understanding in the areas of IT Infrastructure, Database or Development and earn a professional certification.

This certification is designed for both IT as well as non-IT professionals and is an entry-level step to understanding and mastering current Microsoft technology. You will learn everything from networking and security to the most common operating system in the world, Microsoft Windows.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA)

MCSA certification proves that you have the core technical skills required to build a sustainable career in IT. MCSA certification is a required prerequisite for the expert-level MCSE and MCSD certifications.
Microsoft currently offers 10 MCSA certifications that cover all technologies includes SQL Server, Windows, and Dynamics.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD)

MCSD is an expert-level credential for Developers. Having this credential proves your ability to develop and build innovative cloud and on-premises solutions across multiple technologies. You must earn an appropriate MCSA level certification before you can become an MCSD Learn about MCSD certifications.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE)

MCSE stands for Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert, a certification option available to IT professionals who work with different Microsoft technologies. Certification specializations include server infrastructure, private cloud, enterprise devices and apps, Sharepoint, communication, messaging, data platform and business intelligence. There are a number of benefits associated with earning an MCSE credential in any of these specialties.

Earning a Microsoft certification shows you are keeping pace with today’s technology. Skill up, prove your expertise to employers and peers and get the recognition and opportunities you’ve earned.

Please follow and like us: